Cross-stitch, quilting, craft….

I like to start my blog with a piccie….These are some ruby Swarovski Beads I’m adding to a Christmas wall hanging.

Do you ever have these kind of moments or is it just me????

Moment One

I was wearing a t-shirt with a line of glow in the dark writing the other night when I walked into a darkened room and wondered where the line of light was coming from.

Moment Two

I decided to make two litres of egg nog.  I used a measuring jug to measure out two litres of milk from a two litre milk carton.  This was the same night as Moment One…..No, the egg nog was not fortified.

Moment Three

A few minutes ago I was trying to figure out how to download photos from my new camera for the first time.  Up popped a picture of a very serious, familiar looking woman.   It was only when the image moved I realised that I’d turned on the webcam inadvertently and I was looking at myself.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and start to the New Year.  The Missus and I certainly did.  New Years Eve was particularly good, as we had both gone down a clothing size.  We celebrated with a new pair of bathers each.  (It was lovely to go swimming today wearing a pair of bathers which do not droop in inappropriate places.)  On New Years Day I completed a throw for the back of the settee……my first project for 2011.

I used a metre of cat fabric which I did not want to cut up….or leave in the stash.  A bit of cross hatching and that was that!

It is also part of a larger plan.  I’ve decided to give myself a shortish challenge to finish eleven UFOs in eleven weeks.  I’m almost hoping for some stinking hot weather over the next couple of weeks, so it will be too hot to go out anywhere and I can sit and sew all day.

I bought half a metre of the red fabric a few months ago without a project in mind.  I had an ‘aha!’ moment around Christmas time.  It was just what this small table needed to protect it from the budgie cage.

It was one of those fabrics which called out “take me home with you”!  It is not something I’d buy normally, but I just couldn’t resist.  I’ve always been partial to neutrals…black, white, cream, brown, tone on tone.  I took a guess that this one would work and I’m pleased to say it did.

The end of the year saw some therapeutic instant gratification with three simple mug rugs.  A simple project can really hit the spot sometimes, can’t it?

This mug rug for The Missus was a joint effort.  She picked the fabric and drew the swirls for me to machine quilt over.  When I first started quilting I hand quilted my projects.  I was also teaching myself how to use a sewing machine, so hand quilting was a good option.  I’m looking forward to hand quilting some new small projects this year.

I’m off to make tea….satay beef and rice.  I’ve only recently discovered how easy it is to make satay sauce……no more bottled stuff!  Have a lovely beginning of the New Year.

Hugz,

Sue

P.S.  This is potentially Moment Four –

One thing I can never remember is the name of Swarovski Beads.   I can see myself asking for some Schwarzkopf beads at the bead shop! lol

Comments on: "Starting The New Year With A Giggle Or Three" (5)

  1. think we all get moments like that, I try to forget them, lol.
    Looking forward to seeing you meet your challenge, looks like it could be a productive start to the new year

  2. ROTFL the Moment 2 story made me literally LOL, and my husband looked at me like I had grown another head, hehehe. He doesn’t use the computer, which could explain his confusion 😉

    Congratulations on the weight loss, and well done on your projects (I really love that kitty cat fabric, lol)! I’m looking forward to seeing your UFO completions – I wonder how many of them will be embellished with Schwarzkopf beads? LOLLLLLL! 😉

  3. You crack me up!

    Love the cat fabric on the new throw! Has Lestat claimed it yet?

    Best wishes in the New Year, Sue!

  4. You crack me up! I love your “moments”, they are too funny!!!

  5. I was looking for some new blogs to add to my reader for the new year and this post immediately grabbed my attention … not only is it extremely humorous … but yes I am also in this club and have these moments myself, LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

