Cross-stitch, quilting, craft….

Squeezed A Few More In

I’ve managed to squeeze a few more finishes in.  I don’t think I will be finishing any more this year, as I have run out of wadding and also pillows for stuffing.  Ned Kelly Kitty was stuffed with soft beads used in bear making!
 
 

 
 
Ned Kelly Kitty is for The Missus.  She asked if I could put our names on the front rather than her initials. 
 

 This is a teatowel bag requested by The Missus to keep her Ipod bits and pieces in.  The cross stitched cup cake in the middle looks larger in rl. 

This piccie has decided NOT to play nicely.  It is fuzzy when turned sideways.  It is the emboidered  blocks from Gail Pan’s Christmas BOM finished as a wall hanging…..minus one block.  I’m convinced the block “Merry” was possessed.  If a block was going to be misplaced, it was this one….more than once.  It trimmed up wonky – 2 inches on one side and 1/2 inch on the other and crooked….I’m sure it was shifting under the ruler!  I do like the way it looks, though.  It fits perfectly on a long narrow wall next to the bookcase in the lounge.  I can see it from here, now….the right way up!  This was the first BOM I’ve taken part in and I had fun.

I’m starting this one sometime in the next few days using Japanese fabrics.

If I have added everything together correctly, that makes a grand total of 57 finishes this year.  I may be able to squeeze one more in, but that will be it!  I didn’t set out this year to finish so many projects…..until I got close to last year’s total and I had one of those “I wonder if    (I could beat last year’s total by one)” thoughts….I had a ball doing it.

A lot of what I make is on a whim.  I like making lists AFTER the fact, not before.  This means no concrete “to do” lists for next year.  I’ve been cross stitching for 25+ years, so I can’t see that stopping anytime soon!  I can see myself playing with my sewing machine more next year….foundation piecing and applique quilts….plus a bag or three!  On the knitting front…There is a good possibility I will have a go at knitting socks.  My feet are freezing in the winter during playground duty….so a pair of warm handmade socks will go down well!  I may teach myself to crochet next year.  I’m left handed, but plan on teaching myself how to crochet right handed….same way as I taught myself how to knit.  I’ll be doing a bit of scrapbooking and cardmaking, too.

This will probably be my 2nd last post for the year……one more with something which may be of interest to the cross stitchers (not any more FO’s! lol).  The only hint I give is that FOSAL may become part of your vocabulary next year.   

I’ve had a ball in Blogland this year and look forward to more of the same next year.  I wish you and your families all the best for the festive season and the New Year.

Comments on: "Squeezed A Few More In" (4)

  1. I’ve mislaid a block somewhere, I’m hoping by the time I’ve stitched them all, it will turn up.
    I’ve enjoyed keeping up with your stitching this year, and look forward to the coming year. Hope you enjoy the holidays

  2. Andee in aZ said:

    Congrats on three more finishes! I am hoping to learn to knit socks this year too! I know some basic stitches and really want to learn socks..have a video that may help me, otherwise I know a gal I can pay to teach me and may wind up doing that!

  3. Goodness, please take a break, you are making me green with envy. Great finishes!!

  4. I really like what you’ve done with your Christmas Wish BOM. Love that green fabric you used!

Leave a Reply

