Cross-stitch, quilting, craft….

Shiny Things

Yesterday was an immersion in shiny things from the beginning to the end.  The Missus and I spent a few hours at the WA Craft Quilt and Stitch Show.  This is the third one we’ve been to and each time has been lots of fun. 

 There was the Art To Wear exhibition – wearable art from textile artists around Australia, as well as local year 12 students…..It made me want to do the conversion to high school technology and design teaching….until I remembered I’d have to teach teenagers. 

 The WA Teddy Bear Challenge made me want to take up teddy bear making….even though a couple of days ago I was muttering about taking up no more crafts……

 The Australian Cloth Doll Challenge was inspirational….with entries from all skill levels….right from simple softies to sculpted dolls…..and had me digging through my cloth doll patterns last night.

 It is the Embroiderer’s Guild of Western Australia’s 40th anniversary this year and they had an amazing exhibition called “Through the eye of a needle” with all kinds of embroidery stitched by their members from 1969 until now.

 I loved watching the ladies from the Lace Makers Guild flicking the myriad of bobbins around to make delicate pieces of lace.  I thought about taking up lace making many years ago, but changed my mind when I found out how long it takes to make. 

 I did the same thing yesterday with spinning using a wheel….There was a lady there spinning some undyed wool….She made it look effortless and I knew then that one of my other hobbies would have to give if I wanted to take it up while I’m working full time….It is something to think about when I retire….along with teddy bear making.  Anyone know the winning Lotto numbers for Saturday?

 The Southern Country Quilters Association had an exhibition with hundreds of quilts….that was inspirational!  There were also some art quilts on display by professionals….but nothing beat the ones by the SCQA.

 No craft fair would be complete without a splurge or three……

DSC05009 

The first splurge was at Colours Down Under which is a Perth web based cross stitch shop…Lestat picked out which of The Cat’s Whisker’s Design Studio (based here in Perth…YAY!!!) Krazy Kitties patterns he thinks I should do first….He was most insistent that I drop all other craftprojects and work on these immediately….when I’m not fussing him, feeding him, or changing his tray….in those down times when he is asleep.

 DSC05006

I admired Jane’s The Rain Fell as she was working on it and couldn’t resist the pattern when I saw it…along with Home of a Needleworker and My Needle’s Work….which I was most excited to find with the threads, as I’m watching Coni’s lovely progress on the same design.

 DSC05024

While I was busy checking out which scissors to buy…..Aren’t these cute? 

 DSC05031

The Missus was looking for Halloween designs and found Pretty Wicked! with the magic mat and frame and Count LeScarrot by Just Nan  plus Boo To You and All About Halloween by Homespun Elegance.  She did a good job.

 My not so LNS had a huge stall there, which was great, because I could show The Missus what Shepard’s Bush stockings look like made up……I’m glad she liked them….otherwise I’d end up with two!  I didn’t get anything from their stall, as I was only there a few weeks ago.

 DSC05004

Logan’s Patchwork was there, with lots of scrummy fabric to drool over.  I’m purchasing wholly and solely from my stash at the moment….apart from the Laurel Burch panel I found.  It has two repeats, so I assume it is a cushion panel.  I will have a think about how I am going to use it.  I’ve been a fan of her fabric range (especially the cats) for many, many meows.  I think both the art and craft world lost someone special when she died.

DSC05029

I thought this was the Be Attitudes book when I saw it, then just about jumped for joy when I saw it was a Christmas theme, as you know,  I’m in Christmas mode just now….and I was thinking a few hours ahead to a possible purchase….

 After the craft fair we zoomed onto the freeway and went to wave off a long time dearly loved friend into a new life of retirement and charity work.  She’s been a hard worker for many years and we have spent many joyful creative hours together…..but it is time for her to spend her remaining days doing charitable work.  Who is this wonderful creature you ask?  Here is a piccie of her fighting the good fight with a frog…..

 DSC04577

The Missus passed me a Janome catalogue on Friday night which came with the junk mail….which had a stack of brand spanking new sewing machines with a $200 cash back/trade back on your old machine deal.  There just happened to be a Janome stand at the craft fair…..right where we walked in the door….It was fate I tell you!

 While chatting with the ladies on the Janome stall at the craft fair we found out that Janome collects unwanted sewing machines and sends them to the Phillipines where they are donated to a charity that helps set up small businesses for women.….What better use for a sewing machine I have outgrown? 

 DSC05019

The Missus and I decided it would be worthwhile zooming over to their store after the craft fair to look at one of their machines (which was not on their stand).  The ladies in the store were extremely helpful and my eyes were apparently like saucers when I was watching a demo for a machine.  My old one was manual….and this one was computerised.  *swoons*   The Memory Craft 350 came home with me…..

DSC05026

Along with some extras which were thrown in for nothing….A walking foot, a ¼ inch seam foot, a box of 25 bobbins and a pair of dressmaking scissors.  The scissors were an extra added bonus, as I was the first customer to mention the catalogue….and they are purple. *grinz* 

It was almost 2pm by then, so we hopped back in the car and zoomed over to Han’s Café (one of our favourite places for cheap, scrummy eats) for lunch….Then home to prune (too) many branches from a tree in the back yard using a tree lopper we bought at the craft fair.  The Missus lopped….I stacked loppings.  She was zooming along so fast I just about had to run to keep up with her!  It goes without saying that we both fell in a heap in front of a dvd last night (an episode of Red Dwarf and then the first half of the movie Big Fish.)  A great way to end a fabulous day.

Comments on: "Shiny Things" (3)

  1. Oh what a lot of goodies. How exciting to get a new machine. Now to decide what to do on it first.

  2. Ahhhh, the stash ~ the stash! ***drool***

    Congratulations on you new machine…whatever are you going to sew first???

  3. FABU stash! Sounds like you guys had great fun! Oh, and the frog? Hmmm, well we seem to have some things in common so I don’t mind telling you that I had the EXACT same frog, lol. I had to do a double take when I saw yours, lol. My best friend and I used to dress “him” for different holidays, etc. It was hilarious. Matter of fact, don’t be surprised if I send you a pic……..lol.

Leave a Reply

