Cross-stitch, quilting, craft….

A Quiet Sunday

It is cold and still outside….a classic calm before the storm.  Fortunately, I don’t need to be out there unless I choose to.  I’ve just spent a few minutes pulling weeds out from between some iris bulbs. 

 DSC05003

As I walked in the warmth of the house and the smell of freshly baked banana bread wafted over and it feels soooooooooo cosy.  Gotta love winter Sundays like today.  The smell of something fresh out of the oven has that effect, doesn’t it? 

 Ingredients

1 ¼ cup self-raising flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

20g butter

½ cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 egg, beaten lightly

½ cup milk

½ cup mashed banana

 Method

Stir flour and cinnamon together.  Rub in butter.  Stir in other ingredients.  Be careful not to over-mix.  The batter should be lumpy.  Pour into a greased 14cm x 21cm loaf tin.  Bake in a hot oven 220 – 230 degrees C (450 – 475 degrees F) for approximately 30 minutes or until cooked when tested.  Let it stand for 10 minutes before putting on a cake rack to cool.  If you want to be totally decedent, spread a slice with cream cheese and drizzle with honey.

 Today we have the *coff* sugar free version.  As I was typing in the recipe and got to ½ cup s_ _ _ _ my blood ran cold with the realisation that I’d FORGOT TO ADD THE SUGAR!!!  As I was mixing it and putting it in the pan I kept thinking it was rather pale….  The Missus and I have had a piece and it has the thumbs up with or without sugar.  The bananas make it sweet.  If you make it with sugar, it is darker than in the piccie.  We’ve decided to have it without sugar from now on.

 DSC05000

I’ve spent some time today choosing fabric, drawing, vlisofixing and cutting some pieces for Sing, Choir of Angels by Roz Leadbetter of Country Cupboard Designs.  It is in Australian Homespun Christmas Issue. 

DSC05001

 I had originally thought of doing it in all reds, but after a mooch through my fabrics, decided something more muted would be the go. The fq all the others are sitting on is the backing fabric for the angels.  The pattern has this in three pieces, but I’ve decided to quilt down that section and have it as one colour. 

 Naïve style appliqué has been a firm favourite for the ten years I’ve been quilting and I can make it as scrappy as I like.  For a more coordinated look I like foundation piecing.  Being July I’m leaning towards Christmas designs for my quilts and cross stitch.

 I started Four Fat Friends by The Drawn Thread on Thursday night with some threads from my stash on 14 count aida, but all it looks like at the moment is the top of a mad woman’s hair…a progress piccie will come when there is more to show!

The Monolith (DS’s black scarf) is coming along ssssssslllllloooowwwwllllllyyyyyyy.  It is 67cm or 26 ½ inches long (that ½ inch is VERY important! lol).  Each ball seems to take for ever to reduce…..I know that it is because I use fat needles a lot….but I want to see it grow NOW!!! lol

*whispering*  I may have found a way round the multiple screens popping up when I look @ Blogger blogs.  I’m typing each blog address in manually, which seems to be working.  I’m not game enough to leave comments yet, but am enjoying seeing what everyone is up to.  Hopefully I’ve found a solution to the problem.

 Here’s wishing you all a wonderful week.

Comments on: "A Quiet Sunday" (3)

  1. Better forgetting the sugar than the baking powder like I did a few weeks ago, not quite biscuit!
    My DS’s jumper is like that, just have to keep plugging away

  2. Oh, I love banana bread-yours looks wonderfully yummy. The fabby you have is beautiful, as will be whatever you whip up with it. And i have to comment on your little monsters in the previous post. AWESOME!

  3. Catherine said:

    Hi

    I’ve just found your posting tonight featuring the fabrics that you have chosen to create the angel wallhanging that appeared in Homespun 10.7 – absolutely gorgeous to see your choice of colour palette. We would love to feature your finished wallhanging in our Mailbag section of Homespun and would appreciate it if you could forward us a hi-res image of the project (about 1MB) plus some info on what caught your eye about this project etc so that we could publish it for you. If you are happy to do this, please forward them to Liz Newton at enewton@universalmagazines.com.au

    Many thanks and have a great weekend.

    Cheers

    Catherine Sanchez
    Editor
    Homespun

Leave a Reply

