Cross-stitch, quilting, craft….

It Happens In Threes

We’ve all heard that things happen in threes…On Monday everything lined up in the Crafty Universe (which is run by the Goddess SABEL) which led to oodles of fun.

 On Monday the Missus and I decided to walk every day to increase out fitness levels to a level where we can ride our bikes without having a coronary.  It was also the first day which was cold enough to wear long pants without succumbing to a dose of heat stroke this autumn.  Later that night the Missus and I visited our favourite book shop where I found a copy of Free Range Knitter by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.

 I like the way she sees knitting as being simple and complex, soothing and frustrating at the same time.  Most of all I like her “you can do it” attitude towards knitting.

 For me, knitting is like x-stitch….rhythmic and calming…..most of the time.  I won’t mention the three hours it took to teach myself how to cast on about four years ago when I first caught the bug.  That was neither rhythmic or calming…..Ask the Missus….she was with me through every agonising minute….The poor woman had little chance of escaping as we were living in an isolated town with only 100 people in it….It is hard to run and hide from the temporarily insane wannabe knitter who was making macramé instead of casting on when it is ten o’clock at night, there are only five streets in the town and drop bears abound!

 Those three seemingly ordinary incidents on Monday led to me digging through my knitting box looking for inspiration.  What I did find was two hanks and a ball of yarn I used to knit a shawl last year from Knitting Rules!: The Yarn Harlot’s Bag of Knitting Tricks  by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.  The fact that this yarn sheds at an incredible rate even after multiple washes did not deter me…..I was going to knit SOMETHING using this yarn….therefore depleting my stash enough to purchase the same volume of obedient non-shedding yarn.  You guessed it….I’d been reading Free Range Knitter and was ready at any moment to burst into song at the top of my lungs…..”I am knitter hear me roar…With needles too big to ignore…..If I have to I can knit anything!!!!”  I’d knitted a dozen or so garter stitch scarves including a Dr Who scarf and a (mostly) moss stitch (apart from the few rows of inadvertent rib) face cloth, so I was ready for anything….even a wedding ring shawl….even though I’d not knitted for months and couldn’t find my needles!

 I knew I had to pace myself…work up to it….Danny Green had made a comeback to boxing….I could make one too!  Fingerless mittens…..I’d seen patterns ranging from solid and sensible to gothic, romantic and everything in between.  So I logged onto Ravelry and fell in yarn love over and over again. 

 I knew I had to be cautious, otherwise I’d be heartbroken and unable to look at the offending pattern ever again.  I’d been there before….A 45 year old woman jumping up and down on a pile of knitting, then falling into an inconsolable heap on the floor bawling “I CAN’T DO THIS!!!!” is not a good look….and besides that it makes Lestat nervous….That never turns out well and usually involves desperately attempting to bribe someone else to clean his tray.  

 It all ended happily when I found a basic pattern over at Craft Leftovers for ribbed mittens called Fingerless Mitten Duo…With the added bonus of a crochet pattern for the same gloves.  Learning to crochet is on my to do list this year.  I will need to give all the residents of the house (including all the animals) fair warning so they can make alternative arrangements for the time when I am teaching myself the crochet equivalent of casting on.

Comments on: "It Happens In Threes" (4)

  1. I admire your perserverance! lol I’ve lost count of the number of times that I’ve tried to teach myself how to knit or crochet. I recently tossed a collection of rag-tag potholders that attested to my futile attempts. And I keep thinking “take a class”, but so far, none have bent to my crazy schedule.

    Can you post photos here? If so, make sure and show everyone your progress! I for one would love to see your projects!!

  2. I am sure Lestat will find it very enjoyable to “help” you if it all gets out of hand. I’m off for a crochet lesson in a few weeks,. If I can follow a pattern when they have finished, I know they have succeeded

  3. Coni (Spinster Stitcher) throws hers on the driveway and takes the car over it a few times. Less energy than jumping.

    You’ll have no trouble learning crochet…it is very simple!

  4. Crochet is, for me, a lot easier than knitting although I do both. And I think most people say crochet is a lot easier in the learning arena. Knitted socks seem to be the biggie thing right now, so I’ll enjoy seeing these ribbed mittens take shape.

Leave a Reply

